Nigeria: Gombe Plans Youths Achievers Award for Excellence

By Ahmad Umar

Gombe (Nigeria) — Gombe State Government, northeast of the country is to introduce Youths Achievers Award for Excellence.

This is to encourage human resource development among Youths to fast track development of the State.

The State Commissioner, Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Faruq Yarma announced this on Wednesday in Gombe during the inauguration of the implementation Committee

He said, the Governor had directed that the composition of the Committee must be made of versatile minds to implement the award, which is geared towards given due recognition and appreciation to hard work, innovation and creativity of the Youth.

“It is in view of the above that the ministry carefully considered you individually and collectively based on your personal track record of proven ability and uprightness in service to humanity and as investors on human resource development and management, that you have been nominated to serve as members of the committee for the first Gombe State Youth Achievers Award of Excellence

He said the service that the committee members were about to render is not just for the youth, but the entire state, adding that youth is one of the greatest assets any nation can have, because they are the future leaders.

The Commissioner said the committee’s terms of reference was to define philosophy and rationale for having the first Gombe state youth achievers award for excellence and to come up with various award categories as well as to formulate criteria for the selection into each category of the award and also  to identify and list beneficiaries who must have met the criteria.

Yarma said the committee is expected to submit an interim report within four weeks with effect from the date of inauguration.

Also speaking, Secretary to the State Government, James Pisagi, said the aim of the award was to appreciate the works of young indigenes of Gombe State, both in the country and diaspora .

He said the award will also create positive model worthy of emulation by other youths, adding that the award will acknowledge youth as an assets rather than a liability for investment and devolvement in the state.

Responding, Chairman of the committee, Abubakar Inuwa Tata assured that members would give in their best to conclude the assignment within the time frame.

The 9 Members  Committee has  Abubakar Inuwa Tata as Chairman, Zariyatu Abubakar Hashidu, Ezekiel Amin Boryo, Umar Sale Gwani, Abdullahi Bappah Garkuwa, Dr. Mu’azu Usman Shehu, Elder Ephraim Buba, Mallam Abdullahi Abubakar Lamido and Wakaye Maxwell, who serves as secretary

Facebook Comments

Posted by on 15/11/2017. Filed under Development, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Please Leave a Reply