President Buhari Submits Nominees For Board Of NCC, NERC For Confirmation

president buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria


Abuja (Nigeria) – Nigeria’s Senate President, Bukola Saraki on Wednesday during the plenary read two correspondences from the President, Mohammadu Buhari for the confirmation of the appointment of members of the of Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) and Nigerian Communication Commission (NCC).

According to the President, in presenting the nominees for confirmation into the board of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission, he depended on section 34 of the Electric Power sector Reform CAP E7 LFN.

The names presented for confirmation for NERC are Professor Akintunde I. Akinwande – Chairman, Sanusi Garba – Vice Chairman, Nathan R. Shanti – Commissioner, Dr. Moses Arigu – Commissioner, Dafe C. Akpeneye – Commissioner, Professor Frank Okafor – Commissioner and Dr. Musiliu O. Oseni – Commissioner.

Those presented for the board of the NCC are Senator Olabiyi Durajaiye – chairman, Sunday Dare – Executive Commissioner, Stakeholders Management; Aliyu Sa’ida Abubakar – Non executive Commissioner, Clement Omeiza Baiye – Non executive Commissioner, Chief Okoi Ofem Obono Obia – Non executive Commissioner, Pastor Ezekiel Yissa – Non executive Commissioner and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume – Non executive Commissioner.

Although the Senate was expected to consider the requests of Mr. President for the confirmation of Chairman and members of the Niger Delta Development Commission and also the confirmation of the appointment of Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria as listed in the order paper, both requests were declined to another legislative day.


Facebook Comments

Posted by on 21/09/2016. Filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Please Leave a Reply